How to temporarily dismiss Netflix's new password sharing check

  • 7 months   ago
How to temporarily dismiss Netflix's new password sharing check
Sharing passwords on Netflix is probably the easiest way to get a high-definition subscription for much cheaper than one would by subscribing individually, and is a common practice across the world. Netflix is aware of this and regularly makes fun of shared passwords on its social media platforms.
 
However, the company is also aware that users sharing passwords clearly causes a large overall loss in revenue and has begun taking steps to rein in the practice. We recently reported that the company was beginning to enforce the clause in its Terms of Service by informing users that an account “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household”.
 
The streaming service is currently testing a system that shows users a screen telling them to verify that they own the account they are logged into if the device isn’t being used in the same house as the owner of the account. “Start your own Netflix for free today. If you don’t live with the owner of the account, you need your own account to keep watching,” the title reads.
 
However, it appears that the check is arbitrary and the company’s block can be bypassed - for now. If you live in the same household as the owner but received the popup, which is showing up for a few users as part of a new test that the company is conducting in order to try out the account verification feature, you can bypass the feature.
 
Source: Hindustan Times

Comments